Melbourne, VIC
info@whittleconsulting.com.au
+61 3 9898 1755

Our Seminars

Online Integrated Strategic Planning Seminar

Whittle Consulting seminars are now online. Due to COVID-19 we have re-developed, adapted and upgraded our Integrated Strategic Planning seminar to a live, interactive & online format, delivered over 4 consecutive half days

Gerald Whittle announces launch of Online Seminars

Media

Hear what previous participants think about the seminar

Media

Presented by Whittle Consulting

Whittle Consulting are the leaders in the field of Integrated Strategic Planning. Since 1999, Whittle Consulting has conducted over 180 Whittle Enterprise Optimisation studies for mining companies worldwide. These studies have repeatedly improved the economics of a mining project or operation from 5% – 35%, and in many cases substantially more. These results are achieved even after conventional mining optimisation techniques have already been applied.

Overview

Integrated Strategic Planning is regarded as best practice in the mining industry. The Online Seminar comprehensively explains the philosophy and methodology behind Whittle Integrated Strategic Planning. It includes an explanation of the processes involved and the benefits derived from developing a Whittle Enterprise Optimisation model.

Effective long term planning can enhance the value of a minerals business from 5% – 35%, and in many cases substantially more. The seminar explains the 10 distinct Steps in a Whittle Enterprise Optimisation model including: pit/underground, phases, mine schedule, cut-off, stockpiles, blend, processing, product mix and specification, logistics and capital. When applied simultaneously these Steps produce extraordinary results. Important new techniques and concepts for the mining industry are also explored. These theories include Activity Based Costing (ABC) and Theory of Constraints (TOC). The end result is a powerful analytical approach to decision making across all aspects of a mining operation or project. The seminar is equally applicable to both open pit and underground mines.

Introducing insights that are sometimes counter intuitive, Gerald Whittle’s engaging and challenging workshop will:

  • Introduce you to the Integrated Strategic Planning process
  • Provide refreshing insights into how mining companies generate cash, and why they so often fail to do so
  • Describe in detail the simultaneous optimisation of the whole value chain: mining, mineral processing, logistics, production and capital
  • Explain planning and optimisation with geological uncertainty and volatile metal markets
  • Operational and cost modelling techniques for optimisation
  • Theory of Constraints for mining
  • Implementing an effective planning process
  • Provide examples of how the process is being used around the world and the results being achieved.

Facilitator

Gerald Whittle – CEO, Whittle Consulting

As the CEO of Whittle Consulting, Gerald has worked in the mining industry for the past 20 years. A recognised thought leader on mining optimisation, Gerald has presented the Integrated Strategic Planning seminar to over 4,000 delegates worldwide. A qualified accountant and an experienced CFO, he has over 35 years in business planning, analysis and change management.

 

“It is no exaggeration to say that the techniques presented constitute one of the most significant innovations that I have seen in almost 30 years of experience in the mining industry.“

Peter Knights – Professor of Mining, University of Queensland.

Upcoming Online Seminar Dates

Each seminar is delivered over 4 consecutive half days (4 hours per day)

Seminar DatesTimezone 
8 - 11 June 2021
13:00-17:00 AEST UTC+10 (Brisbane time)
Suitable for Australasia
Start times: Almaty 9:00am, Jakarta 10:00am, Perth 11:00am, Tokyo 12:00pm, Melbourne & Brisbane 1:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
14 - 17 June 2021
13:00-17:00 EDT UTC-4 (Toronto time)
Suitable for North, Central & South America (also accessible in the evening in Africa & Europe)
Start times: Vancouver 10:00am, Denver 11:00am, Lima 12:00pm, Toronto & Santiago 1:00pm, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 2:00pm, London 6:00pm, Johannesburg 7:00pm, Moscow 8:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
21 - 24 June 202111:00-15:00 BST UTC+1 (London time)
Suitable for Europe, Africa & the Middle East (also accessible in the early morning in the Americas & the evening in Australasia)
Start times: Lima 5:00am, Toronto & Santiago 6:00am, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 7:00am, Accra 10:00am, London 11:00am, Johannesburg 12:00pm, Moscow 1:00pm, Dubai 2:00pm, Jakarta 5:00pm, Perth 6:00pm, Melbourne & Brisbane 8:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
12 - 15 July 2021WITH SPANISH & PORTUGUESE TRANSALTION
13:00-17:00 EDT UTC-4 (Toronto time)
Suitable for North, Central & South America (also accessible in the evening in Africa & Europe)
Start times: Vancouver 10:00am, Denver 11:00am, Lima 12:00pm, Toronto & Santiago 1:00pm, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 2:00pm, London 6:00pm, Johannesburg 7:00pm, Moscow 8:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions

Sign up for one of our upcoming 45 minute WEBINARS

Our 45 minute webinar provides a high level overview of the Whittle Integrated Strategic Planning approach. Gerald Whittle, CEO of Whittle Consulting will demonstrate how this approach can improve the economics of mining projects and operations from 5%-35%, and in many cases substantially more.

UPCOMING WEBINAR SERIES:

Thursday 20th May, 2:00pm AEST UTC+10 (Brisbane time)
Suitable for Australasia REGISTER
(start times: Almaty 10:00am, Jakarta 11:00am, Perth 12:00pm, Tokyo 1:00pm, Brisbane & Melbourne 2:00pm) Find other location time zone conversions

Tuesday 25th May, 3:00pm EDT UTC-4 (Toronto time)
Suitable for North, Central & South America, Africa & Europe REGISTER
(start times: Vancouver 12:00pm, Denver 1:00pm , Lima 2:00pm, Toronto & Santiago 3:00pm, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 4:00pm, London 8:00pm, Johannesburg 9:00pm) Find other location time zone conversions

Thursday 27th May, 11:00am BST UTC+1 (London time)
Suitable for Europe, Africa & Australasia REGISTER
(start times: Lima 5:00am, Toronto & Santiago 6:00am, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 7:00am, Accra 10:00am, London 11:00am, Johannesburg 12:00pm, Moscow 1:00pm, Jakarta 5:00pm, Perth 6:00pm, Melbourne & Brisbane 8:00pm) Find other location time zone conversions

Monday 31st May, 8:00pm EDT UTC-4 (Toronto time) SPANISH & PORTUGUESE TRANSLATION AVAILABLE
Suitable for North, Central & South America, Africa & Europe REGISTER
(start times: Vancouver 5:00pm, Denver 6:00pm, Lima 7:00pm, Toronto & Santiago 8:00pm, Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 9:00pm, London 8:00pm, Johannesburg 10:00pm) Find other location time zone conversions

 

Who should attend the Seminar

Over the past decade the seminar has been attended by over 4,000 senior mining executives, geologists, mining engineers, process engineers, metallurgists, logistics managers, department, divisional and project managers, institutional mining fund investors, financial analysts and project financiers.

Ideally senior managers across all business disciplines from the one company should attend together, as the seminar presents the benefits of cross-functional collaboration. In our online seminar, managers from different locations can easily participate together in the virtual; seminar space. Attendance is often the final step in deciding whether to embark an Enterprise Optimisation study, or the first step in doing it. In house seminars can be also be arranged online upon request.

Note: This is not a software course but a strategic mining integration and optimisation learning experience.

Whittle Integrated Strategic Planning can be applied on both open pit and underground mines at any stage. You will gain specific benefit if you are:

  • Making a large capital decision
  • Looking to raise finance or refinance
  • Planning expansions
  • At the PFS or FS stage
  • Operating distressed or low performing asset
  • Making any key decisions for your operation

You will discover how Integrated Strategic Planning:

  • Has large advantages over siloed planning
  • Enables greater visibility of the entire mining operation from resource through to market
  • Provides data driven information to inform all decision making
  • increases the value of a minerals business from 5%- 35%, and in some cases substantially more

Express your interest

Proudly supported by: