Melbourne, VIC
info@whittleconsulting.com.au
+61 3 9898 1755

Our Mining Seminars

Online Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning Seminar for mine optimisation

Whittle Consulting mining seminars are now online. Due to COVID-19 we have re-developed, adapted and upgraded our Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning seminar to a live, interactive & online format, delivered over 4 consecutive half days

Gerald Whittle announces launch of online mining seminars

Media

Hear what previous participants think about the mining seminar

Media

Presented by Whittle Consulting

Whittle Consulting are the leaders in the field of Integrated Strategic Planning for the mining industry. Since 1999, Whittle Consulting has conducted over 180 Whittle Enterprise Optimisation studies for mining companies worldwide. These studies have repeatedly improved the economics and mine valuations of mining projects and operations, from 5% – 35%, and in many cases substantially more. These results are achieved even after conventional mining optimisation techniques have already been applied.

Mining Seminar Overview

Learn about Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning

Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning is regarded as best practice in the mining industry. Our online mining seminar comprehensively explains the philosophy and methodology behind Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning. It includes an explanation of the processes involved and the benefits derived from developing a Whittle Enterprise Optimisation model.

Understand how to enhance mine valuation

Effective long term mine planning can enhance the value of a minerals business from 5% – 35%, and in many cases substantially more. The mining seminar explains the 10 Steps in a Whittle Enterprise Optimisation model including: pit/underground, phases, mine schedule, cut-off grade, stockpiles, blend, processing, product mix and specification, logistics and capital. When applied simultaneously these 10 Steps produce extraordinary results – enhancing overall mine valuation.

Explore the theories & mine software behind mining optimisation

Important new techniques and concepts for the mining industry are also explored. These theories include Activity Based Costing (ABC) and Theory of Constraints (TOC). The impact of Whittle’s proprietary mine software, Prober-E is also explored. The end result is a powerful analytical approach to decision making across all aspects of a mining operation or project. The seminar is equally applicable to both open pit and underground mines.

Gain an appreciation of the future of mining optimisation

Introducing insights that are sometimes counter intuitive, Gerald Whittle’s engaging and challenging workshop will:

  • Introduce you to the Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning process
  • Provide refreshing insights into how mining companies can generate cash, improve their mine valuation; and why they so often fail to do so
  • Describe in detail the simultaneous optimisation of the whole value chain for both mining projects & mining operations. Including: mining, mineral processing, logistics, production and capital
  • Explain how to undertake effective mine planning and mine optimisation, when faced with geological uncertainty and volatile metal markets
  • Operational and cost modelling techniques for mine optimisation
  • Applying the principles underpinning Theory of Constraints to enhance mine optimisation
  • Implementing an effective mine planning process
  • Provide case studies of how the Whittle Consulting mine optimisation process is being used around the world and the results being achieved.

Seminar Facilitator

Gerald Whittle – CEO, Whittle Consulting

As the CEO of Whittle Consulting, Gerald Whittle has worked in the mining industry for over 20 years. A recognised thought leader on mining optimisation, Gerald has presented the Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning seminar to over 5,000 delegates worldwide. A qualified accountant and an experienced CFO, Gerald has over 40 years in business planning, analysis and change management.

 

“It is no exaggeration to say that the techniques presented constitute one of the most significant innovations that I have seen in almost 30 years of experience in the mining industry.“

Peter Knights – Professor of Mining, University of Queensland.

Who should attend this Mining Seminar?

Over the past decade the  Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning seminar has been attended by over 5,000 senior mining executives, geologists, mining engineers, process engineers, metallurgists, logistics managers, department, divisional and project managers, institutional mining fund investors, financial analysts, project financiers and professionals involved in the epcm process within the mining industry.

Ideally senior managers across all business disciplines from the one company should attend together, as the seminar presents the benefits of cross-functional collaboration. In our online mining seminar, managers from different locations can easily participate together in the virtual seminar space. Attendance is often the final step in deciding whether to embark on a Whittle Enterprise Optimisation study, or the first step in doing it. In house seminars can be also be arranged online upon request.

Note: This is not a software course but a strategic mining integration and mine optimisation learning experience.

Upcoming Integrated Strategic Mine Planning

Seminar Dates

Each seminar is delivered over 4 consecutive half days (4 hours per day).

Seminar DatesTimezone 
28 September - 1 October 202113:00-17:00 EDT UTC-4 (Toronto time)
Suitable for North, Central & South America (also accessible in the evening in Africa & Europe)
Start times: Vancouver 10:00am, Denver 11:00am, Lima 12:00pm, Toronto 1:00pm, Santiago & Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 2:00pm, London 6:00pm, Johannesburg 7:00pm, Moscow 8:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
11 - 14 October 2021
12:00-16:00 AEST UTC+10 (Brisbane time)
Suitable for Australasia
Start times: Almaty 8:00am, Jakarta 9:00am, Perth 10:00am, Tokyo 11:00am, Brisbane 12:00pm & Melbourne 1:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
25 - 28 October 202111:00-15:00 BST UTC+1 (London time)
Suitable for Europe, Africa & the Middle East (also accessible in the early morning in the Americas & the evening in Australasia)
Start times: Santiago & Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 7:00am, Accra 10:00am, London 11:00am, Johannesburg 12:00pm, Moscow 1:00pm, Dubai 2:00pm, Jakarta 5:00pm, Perth 6:00pm, Brisbane 8:00pm, Melbourne 9:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions
16 - 19 November 2021WITH SPANISH & PORTUGUESE TRANSLATION
13:00-17:00 EST UTC-5 (Toronto time)
Suitable for North, Central & South America (also accessible in the evening in Africa & Europe)
Start times: Vancouver 8:00am, Denver 9:00am, Lima & Toronto 11:00am, Santiago & Sao Paulo & Buenos Aries 1:00pm, London 4:00pm, Johannesburg 6:00pm, Moscow 7:00pm
Find other location time zone conversions

WEBINAR – watch a pre-recorded 45-minute introductory webinar

Not sure if the 4-day seminar is for you? Our complimentary, pre-recorded 45-minute online introductory webinar provides a high level overview of the Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning approach. In the webinar, Gerald Whittle, CEO of Whittle Consulting, provides a conceptual overview of the Whittle Consulting philosophy and methodology and explains what is covered if you attend our online Whittle Integrated Strategic Mine Planning seminar.

Our Seminar brochure is available in 3 languages

Express your interest

Proudly supported by:

Attend a Seminar

Register

Talk to Whittle Consulting today

Contact us